Dress for Success

I had another great run today!  Lucky me!  I was worried (uh oh, here comes some talk of the weather) since it was -27C with the windchill but as luck would have it I didn’t start to feel even a little cold until the halfway mark.  At which point I turned around and started to make my way home!  I definitely had icicles on my eyelashes and my toque was a frost dome but for some reason today I was not bothered by this.

It took me a few tries to get it right but I’ve finally figured out how to dress on these really cold days.  In milder weather I often use the Runner’s World “What to Wear” tool.  This tool has helped me to not overdress many-a-time, but I feel like they miss the mark a bit when you start entering in colder temperatures and more extreme conditions.  For example, even upon entering the harshest of options weather wise you still aren’t advised to wear anything covering your face.  I’m pretty sure my face would shatter and fall off  running in -30 gale force winds with all that sensitive skin exposed!  So here are the layers I wear on a day like today.  First socks, long underwear (just cotton but I’d wear running tights if I had them), and a stretchy yogaish tech top (one advantage to this weather is you’re wearing so many layers a built-in shelf bra will do the trick!).  Over that I’ll put on a pair of spandex-y shorts.  This has been a lifesaver on many cold days.  The shorts cut the wind which means no frozen thighs!  Lovely!  Then comes a long-sleeved tech tee and a pair of sweatpants.  Not the baggy bulky kind.  More like less fitted yoga pants.  I round out my layers with a warm running jacket.  Something that will cut the wind and provide one more layer of warmth.  My next step is to cover the skin of my face that will me most consistently exposed (cheeks, nose, eyelids) with a layer of vaseline.  This feels pretty disgusting but it makes all the difference in the world!  Over my slick, greasy face I place a balaclava (ski mask) with a perforated mouth opening then go ahead and top that with a fleece toque and neck warmer.  This might sound like overkill but I do find it’s nice to sort of switch between the neckwarmer and the balaclava covering the lower part of my face during a run.  Both items can get damp but spinning the neckwarmer around a few degrees will give you a dry side for the time being.  Also I wear cheapy mini-mitts type gloves and stash a second pair in my pocket as my hands sweat a lot (gross and weird maybe).  And of course I wear my running shoes (not doing 7 miles in some Kodiaks ya know!).  At the end of the day (run) there are some definite cold spots on my body.  My lower arms and my feet tend to get a little chill.  But growing up in this climate I’ve become accustomed to being a little cold and would take it over being too hot any day of the week!

Oh and as for today..  I covered 7 miles in that outfit!  Yay!  Splits anyone?

Oh.. Do you not find this photo relevant? I think you can see some snow out the window..

Mile 1    12:44

Mile 2     11:58

Mile 3     11:57

Mile 4     11:50

Mile 5     11:38

Mile 6     11:33

Mile 7     11:15

Total time 1 hr 22 min

I find as my pace has picked up I really need a solid warmup mile.  During that first mile I always find myself wondering how on earth I’m going to speed up to a decent pace for the rest of the run and then before I know it I’m there and it doesn’t feel any harder.

Tomorrow morning I’m leaving for a short last-minute vaycay to the city of Montreal with my finest gal pals!   I don’t imagine I will post anything more untill I’m home on Wednesday.  Then on Thursday I’m leaving again to farm-sit for my Mum so please don’t hold your breath, clicking refresh into the wee hours of the morning waiting for me to tell you how my french run went!  That is friendly sarcasm (obviously..?) Au revoir mes amis!

Leave a Reply

